2006 University Awards

Fred A. Schwendiman Performance Award

Peggy I. Erickson – Chemistry and Biochemistry

Known for her willingness to far exceed the extra mile, Peggy serves as executive secretary in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry in capacities that extend well beyond her job description. Responsible for aiding in all departmental management areas, she meets her expanding workload professionally, courteously, consistently , and endearingly, with personal care for all things human.

Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Teaching Award

Justin B. Peatross – Physics and Astronomy

Dr. Justin B. Peatross is a master teacher – largely because he is equally at home in the classroom and in the research lab. He is innovative, rigorous, and demanding in the classroom, but in such a way the students recognize the value of his courses and respond positively. The National Science Foundation has also recognized his innovative ideas for pedagogy by funding his development of an electronic textbook in optics. In addition to his classroom teaching, Professor Peatross mentors many undergraduate students in his research laboratory, where those students also benefit from his rigor, enthusiasm, and innovation. His research expertise has been recognized with a National Science Foundation CAREER Award.

Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Research and Creative Arts Award

David W. Embley – Computer Science

Dr. David Embley is recognized internationally as a top researcher in the area of conceptual modeling. Comments from international peers indicate that “his work has to be considered as a landmark,” and “he has delivered astonishingly good results.” Dr. Embley has authored more that 150 publications, including two books and 128 refereed journal and conference papers. He has received multiple grants from the National Science Foundation and has been a keynote speaker and given invited talks at numerous venues. He is on the editorial board of four international journals, and he has chaired major conferences in his field. Dr. Embley combines his love for scholarship with significant efforts in teaching and citizenship.

Paul B. Savage – Chemistry and Biochemistry

Dr. Paul Savage manages a large, well-funded research group of undergraduate, graduate, and postdoctoral students. His research is recognized internationally for synthesizing a new class of antibiotic compounds. This work has attracted significant scientific interest and has appeared in journals such as Science and Nature. It has also had an impact on the commercial world, serving as the basis for three start-up companies. Professor Savage sets an exceptional example of both versatility and high quality in his research. HIs teaching has been recognized by peers and students, most notable with the Maeser Excellence in Teaching Award in 2004. He also serves as an associate chair in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

Karl G. Maeser General Education Professorship

J. Ward Moody – Physics and Astronomy

Dr. J. Ward Moody was appointed chair of the Physical Science 100 course committee in 2000, where he has coordinated extensive revisions for this important GE course. This required his bringing the diverse views of faculty from three departments to a focused consensus that ensures continued improvement of the course. He also supervised a major revision in the course text and supporting materials that recently resulted in an update, low-cost text published by the BYU Bookstore. Chapters were written by faculty members involved with teaching Phy S 100. Dr. Moody wrote nine of those chapters himself. In addition to overseeing the course, he has also been involved extensively with teaching Phy S 100 at least once every year since 1992.

Abraham O. Smoot Citizenship Award

Francis R. Nordmeyer – Chemistry and Biochemistry

Dr. Francis Nordmeyer’s career at BYU has been marked by consissstent, quiet teaching and service to his department and the university. He has appointed associate chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry in 1994, and he then served as chair from 1995 to 2004. As chair, Fran worked tirelessly on behalf of his colleagues, and he premomed many tasks that he reused to assign to others becuase he did not want to impose on their time. THe department prospered under his leadership. When he stepped down as chair in 2004, he could have coasted to retirement, but instead he volunteered for additional teaching responsibilities. He continues to make valuable contributions on department and university committees.