Computer Science and Mathematics Department Chairs Announced

Dr. Kevin Seppi Appointed Computer Science Department Chair

Dean Shane Reese of the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences has appointed Dr. Kevin Seppi as chair of the Computer Science Department.

“Dr. Seppi’s capabilities as a researcher and mentor will allow him to provide strong leadership to the department and open doors to students,” said Reese. “We are excited to see what he accomplishes.”

Seppi is the author or co-author of eighty-four refereed conference and journal publications. Seppi’s research at BYU has included topics in function optimization and parallel systems, most of this work making use of probabilistic models. Seppi currently works in two areas:  natural language processing and the application of machine learning to activities and devices in the physical world. He is especially interested in improving the ways in which humans interact with intelligent systems.

“My objective is to continue to make BYU computer science an environment where great student-led research flourishes,” Seppi said. “I want to build a program that excites students and employers—a compelling program that includes core computer science, data science, software engineering, cloud computing, security, systems, image processing, games, and animation.”

Dr. Michael Dorff Reappointed as Mathematics Department Chair

Dean Shane Reese of the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences has reappointed Michael Dorff as chair of the Department of Mathematics. Dorff was originally appointed in 2015, and will serve as chair for another three years.

Dorff has made great contributions to the math department. Dorff is currently the president-elect of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA). Dorff also founded the Careers in Math speaker series to introduce students to the diverse options for careers after graduation. Dorff is a strong researcher, having authored and co-authored over thirty refereed publications. Most notably, Dorff received the Distinguished Teaching Award and the Maeser Excellence in Teaching Award, both from BYU, and the Haimo Teaching Award from the MAA.

Dorff also founded the $2.5 million Center for Undergraduate Research in Mathematics (CURM), which is funded by the National Science Foundation. Since 2007, CURM has helped 392 undergraduates from eighty-four colleges and universities.

We welcome Dorff’s continued leadership in mathematics at BYU.

By Angela Cava Posted on