CPMS Faculty and Staff Receive Prestigious University Awards

Four professors and two staff members in the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences (CPMS) were announced as recipients of prestigious awards from Brigham Young University on August 25th.

CPMS Associate Dean Thomas W. Sederberg, also a professor in the Department of Computer Science, has been awarded the university’s most prestigious faculty award, the Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award. The award is provided through the generosity of the Karl G. Maeser Scholarship Society and celebrates the recipient’s clear superiority in both teaching and scholarship.

Sederberg has made significant contributions in the areas of geometric modeling and algebraic geometry through his research. He developed the concept of free-form deformation, an essential technique that has profoundly affected many fields, from geometry to animation and beyond. An alumnus of both BYU and Purdue University, Sederberg has mentored many students at both the undergraduate and graduate levels and remains loved by his pupils and colleagues alike. His many years of devoted academic and administrative service will be honored with his receipt of this esteemed award.

Paul B. Farnsworth, professor of chemistry and chair of the Chemistry and Biochemistry Department, was named a recipient of the Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Research and Creative Arts Award. Also provided through the Maeser Scholarship Society, the award honors faculty members for their outstanding research and creative accomplishments, such as Farnsworth’s work with analytical spectroscopy. In addition to his groundbreaking research, Farnsworth has received national awards for his work, mentored numerous students and developed widely used teaching materials.

In addition, mathematics professor Jeff Humpherys received a Young Scholar Award from the university. The award aims to encourage and acknowledge outstanding promise and contributions by faculty in the early stages of their academic careers. A recent recipient of the National Science Foundation’s prestigious CAREER Award honoring young professors, Humpherys has been recognized as one of the leading academics in his field.

Professor Matthew R. Linford of the Department of Physics was also named a recipient of the university’s Technology Transfer Award, along with colleague Barry M. Lunt. The award, which acknowledges faculty members who have made significant research contributions that have led to the development of useful commercial products, recognizes Linford and Lunt’s contributions to the development of the “millennial disk,” a new type of DVD disc that extends data reliability up to 1,000 years and will soon be released by university licensee Millenniata, Inc.

CPMS Assistant Dean E. Daniel Johnson and Janet J. Fonoimoana of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry both received the President’s Appreciation Award. The award recognizes staff and administrative personnel for exceptional service, creativity and competence, qualities which both Johnson and Fonoimoana bring to their respective positions within the college.

Brigham Young University announces faculty awards on an annual basis, coinciding with the Annual University Conference in late August.

By Steve Pierce Posted on